Official Program for 162nd Independence Day Celebration Released

Foreign Minister Olubanke King-Akerele
Foreign Minister Olubanke King-Akerele
Photo Credit: IT/ Public Affairs

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs has released the Official Program in Commemoration of this Year 162nd Independence Anniversary. The Official Program takes place next Monday, July 27, 2009 in Gbarnga City, Bong County.

This Year Oration will be delivered by an esteemed and illustrious Paramount Chief, Flomo Togbah Barworor. While two heads of State, His Excellency Hifikepunye Pohamba , President of Namibia and His Excellency Obiang Nguema Gbasogo, President of Equatorial Guinea  and Dr. Dr. Mohamed Ibn Chambas, President of ECOWAS Commission, will all be attending.

The Official program in commemoration of the Day takes place on July 27, 2009 at the Administrative Building in Gbarnga, Bong County, while the Intercessory and Thanksgiving Service will be held on the Main Campus of the Cuttington University in Suacoco, Bong County on Sunday, July 26, 2009 at 10:00 ante meridian.

The ushering of guest into the Main Hall at the Administrative building will commence at 8:45 a.m. ante meridian and end at 9:40 a. m., with the exception of those listed in the Special Protocol; no one will be permitted to enter the Official program hall. At 9:50 a. m., members of the Consular Corps will enter the Main Hall to be followed by Head of International Organizations at 9:55 a. m while at 10:00 a. m. and 10;10 a.m. the Doyen and Members of the diplomatic corps and the President of the ECOWAS Commission, Dr. Mohamed Ibn Chambas will enter the main Hall and be escorted to seats reserved for them.

The Dean and members of the Cabinet will enter the main Hall at 10:15 a. m. while at 10:25 a. m. the President Pro-Tempore and Members of the Honorable House of the Senate of the 52nd Legislature of the Republic will enter, to be followed by His Honor the chief Justice and Associate Justices of the supreme Court of the Republic of Liberia.

At 10:40 a.m., the Honorable Speaker and Mrs. Hawa Tyler, and Members of the Honorable House of Representatives of the 52nd Legislature of Liberia will enter the Main Hall, while at 10:50 a.m., the Honorable Vice President of Liberia, and Mrs. Katimu Boakai will enter the Main Hall. At 10:55 a.m., the Acting chief of Protocol of Liberia will announce the arrival of Her Excellency President of the Republic of Liberia accompanied by visiting Heads of State.